Running Away With My Ideas

Intellectual Property.  An idea or invention is yours.  Copyrighted or not, you developed it.

Intellectual Property Theft.  Someone steals your idea.  They pass it off as their own idea.  They profit.  You lose.

This is happening to me right now.  I found out yesterday that a MAJOR publication has stolen my idea.

I have the kickstarter page and rockethub page from years ago when I started it.  I submitted the idea to the publication because I KNEW it was a good one.  They never responded.  I figured they thought it was lame, or just didn’t want to work with an unknown writer.  Yesterday, the magazine arrived in my mailbox and to by great surprise and distress, I see THE ARTICLE I CAME UP WITH.  My idea.  All of it.  Even down to the city I suggested when I wrote them about it.

What can I do?  I am horrified.  Violated.  Reading all that I can about laws that protect me and what is mine, while waiting for them to return numerous emails and tweets.  HOW can someone do this?

This magazine prides itself on being about the little guy.  Uniting us all.  We are all together, all the same, equal, part of this community, we help each other, blah blah blah.  Nonsense.  Lies.  I am just sitting here, really not sure what to say or who to call, because I am dumbfounded that ANYONE would blatantly steal and say nothing to me.  It’s unconscionable. It’s despicable.

Leave a Reply

