Running Away, Continued

I have contacted Runner’s World in the only way I know how.  That is, by using their online “contact us” form, and by directly tweeting the editor.  No one has responded, and while I refuse to let this ruin my day or crush my spirit, I do expect them to respond.

Right now I feel like they are the Marlowe to my Shakespeare.  Trying to take credit, but in truth the idea is mine and always was.  I don’t know why they felt the need to steal it.  I don’t know how they can sleep at night.  I am a writer AND a runner, and this was my passion project.  Sure, I didn’t have the funds, but then again, I am not a huge corporation.  I am the little guy.  It doesn’t mean I deserve to be swept aside like rubbish while someone else takes my dreams and profits from them.

Maybe they didn’t think I was a good writer.  (Isn’t that what editors are for?)  Maybe the person who stole it hadn’t had a good idea in months.  I don’t know.  I don’t care.  Nothing is a good enough excuse for what has happened.  To see my idea come alive by someone else’s (treacherous) hand is gut-wrenching.  It hurts to my core.  It is reprehensible.

What do I do now?  Well the short answer is, I don’t know.  It’s Easter weekend and I am going to try not to think about it for the next couple of days.  They have stolen everything else, I won’t let them take my joy.  I would really appreciate a response, though.  I want them to do what is right.  I want Runner’s World to admit what they did, admit it was wrong, and give me credit for the idea that I submitted to them.  That’s the right thing to do, the honorable thing.  I was naive, I guess, in telling them my idea in the first place.  Am I naive to think they will apologize?  Probably.

To Dave Willey and anyone else reading this – You hurt me.  I am only one person, sure, and a stranger to you, and I get that.  But I am a PERSON.  It was MY original idea you guys poached.  I feel like I have been stabbed.  The running (and writing) community is small, and has always felt like a good group of people.  Why did you do this?  Do you have any idea what kind of direct deposit you just made into your own karma bank?  Man.

Please contact me.  I would like to discuss what has been done and where to go from here.

Leave a Reply

