August and Anger

Reading this (link below) explanation by Christ August about his song “7×70” was really powerful for me.  I also grew up in what you might call a ‘broken’ home. But that’s not why I needed to read this today. The song and the article are relevant to some situations that are lingering over our heads like storm clouds.  Here’s what I know: It’s important not to hold on to anger.  It is easier to hold on to it than to let it go, but I have got to learn to let go.  It’s better for my heart, my health, and my quality of life.

The part of the article that struck me between the eyes is “Satan USES the bitterness we build up in our hearts.” I have experienced this and know it to be true. Once you are angry, then you’re open to saying unkind things, retaliation, ruining relationships sometimes. So don’t let the bitterness fester. {Ephesians 4:26 and James 1:19 immediately come to mind.} Again, this is easy in theory but difficult in practice.  When I am wounded, it’s usually deep and something I require apologies and validation in order to overcome.

This morning I was feeling mad and hurt, after an incident with a friend last night.  So I looked at the “Bible Emergency Numbers” paper I have taped on my vision board.  Sure enough, there’s one for “when people seem unkind”. It’s John 15.  I turned to that verse, and read about Jesus saying he is the vine, we are the branches. Apart from him we can bear no fruit. At first I was like, “what does this have to do with people who are mean or hurtful?” I like these verses just fine, I’ve heard them before, but what does this mean?

Then, when I had some quiet time, I thought about it.  Well, the fruits of the spirit are love, joy, peace, patience, kindness, goodness, faithfulness, gentleness and self-control. So if I am to be in him and him in me in order to bear fruit, what I heard him telling me was that THIS (being hurt) is happening so that you will REACT THIS WAY (see fruits of the spirit).  It’s like Jesus was giving me instruction. “Bear fruit. Be in me. Be a Christian, for crying out loud!”

I think that God can and does use all parts of our lives, all areas, all joys, sorrows, struggles, and successes for our good and for his glory.  He molds us, to teaches us, and makes us better than we were yesterday.   It’s also worth mentioning that the second half of John 15 is the part where Jesus says “the world will hate you because it hated me first” (I’m paraphrasing). This is actually a comfort.  In my mind, the harder some situations are, it’s just reassurance that I’m doing the right thing.

Right now, starting this moment, I’m going to hold on for dear life to my Lord and forgive, let go, and bear fruit.  I am always honored when God speaks to me, little ol’ me, you know what I mean?  I am humbled that the God of all the universe stops to help me and love on me when I need it.

Check out what Chris August wrote about his (beautiful, touching, emotional) song “7×70”:

http://www.chrisaugustmusic.com/songs/7×70

Leave a Reply

