Play it Again, Santa

No one asked, and still I have decided to answer.

This list changes each year, usually depending on my mood, my stress level and how much baking I have to do.  On another note, why does Christmas always make me think of “Braveheart”?  Maybe it’s the red and green tartan?  Never been able to figure that one out… but I digress…

MY TOP 5 CHRISTMAS SONGS OF 2013

5) All I Want for Christmas is You by Mariah Carey.  For me, this is a classic. It’s a happy song that’s been around for… what… 20 years  now?  There was a period where I felt I might need to retire it but then that movie “Love Actually”, particularly that adorable little boy in the school concert, revived it for me.

4) Oh Holy Night – Various Artists.  I adore this song, I float around on air to this song, as long as the singer doesn’t completely butcher that high note.  This song is special. Sacred.  Not everyone can sing it and not everyone should.  This song is for people with pipes.  Josh Groban, Celine Dion, have spine-tingling renditions. This one never leaves the top 5 list.

3) Baby it’s Cold Outside – Various Artists.  There are two that never fail to make me smile, one is Willie Nelson and Norah Jones, the other is Rod Stewart and Dolly Parton.  I like those unique voices, Willie’s twang, Norah’s smooth jazzy sound, Rod’s scratchy voice that sounds like he smiles when he sings. Dolly, too, just makes me happy when I hear her. I love the flirtiness of these lyrics.  Reminds me of first love, when it’s fresh, intoxicating, innocent.  Warms me up better than an ugly reindeer sweater.

2) Happy Christmas by John Lennon (and Yoko Ono) – This is a NEW addition to my Top 5 list.  It has replaced “Blue Christmas” by Elvis, which still has a place in my heart… maybe in my Top 10 favorite Christmas songs.  There’s just something about it that… transcends.  These days I have a greater appreciation for Lennon, for who he was or might have been at his core, beyond the Beatles.  So much so that I’m willing to forgive the cringe-worthy moments when I can actually hear Yoko singing.

1) Moonlight Sonata by Beethoven.  Maybe not a song that everyone equates with Christmas, but for me it isn’t Christmas without Beethoven.  This song is as much a part of the holidays as chocolate and family arguments.  There isn’t a specific memory attached to this song so it’s hard for me to explain, but suffice it to say it’s a part of me.  It always has been, it always will be.

Until I started typing this post today, I actually didn’t realize I liked  so many Christmas songs.  I thought I found Christmas music, in general, pretty darn annoying.  Who knows, maybe next year I’ll feature 10 songs.

So, tell me.  What are your favorites for the holidays?

Leave a Reply

