Still Life

I have a confession to make.

Today I worked until noon, and then left.  Not spur of the moment, totally approved ahead of time, but it still felt wonderful.  Freeing.  Oh, no, that’s not the confession.

I had planned to go with my husband to see what kind of deal we could get if we traded in my car, then maybe have some lunch and take a nap.  Well, the best laid plans, am I right?  And astray they did go, dear readers.  I won’t bore you with the details, but suffice it to say that I know why drinkers drink and I know why certain animals eat their young.  Today I was tempted to do both. Nope, that’s not the confession, either.

Besides all that, my husband’s boss called him in to work (on his day off).  Say what?!  Alright, I figured I’d get over it because it was only for a couple of hours.  Still, first thought that came to my head was this:

Image

And, true to form, husband’s boss kept him there for about 8 hours. Awesome.

I wasn’t about to go to the car dealership alone (I break out into hives when I hear phrases like “little lady”), so I ate lunch at home and waited.  About 3.5 hours in to the waiting, I realized I was going to be alone all afternoon and possibly all evening, so I decided to grab my camera and go shoot.  My brother let me borrow his favorite lens.  Let it be noted that I have ZERO idea what I am doing but he, an amateur photog, is always so eager to share and chat about it with me.  I mostly listen.  So I drove to a local park, since it’s Autumn and everything is pretty, just to see what I’d get.  The resulting shots are not orgasmic but they’re not bad, either.  At least I got some practice in.  Here are a few:

Image

Image

Image

The 2nd and 3rd shots were taken with the pop art filter, but other than that I’ve done no editing.  My confession:  The last shot is actually of the leaves on the edge of my driveway!  (What, I didn’t say it was scandalous.) I feel a little silly sharing that one, like it’s not “artsy” enough. But I like the way the possibly poisonous vines are growing.  I think it’s actually my favorite.

Now, I know that you can’t just take pictures and call yourself a photographer.  Not in the old-fashioned, “I know about light and sunlight and other photography things” (I’m eloquent) way.  I know that.  But after a pretty bad day, I had this glimmer of inspiration and I’m so happy I decided to try.  Maybe one day I’ll know about photography things.  Until then, I’m happy capturing stills from my experience.

What’s your favorite subject to photograph?  Favorite place, time of day?

Leave a Reply

